Friday, 19 December 2014

BOOK REVIEW: Who Breaks a Butterfly upon a Wheel? by Harish S Guru & Priyadharshini V

ABOUT THE BOOK:- Four boys break into a bank in the middle of the night with twelve hostages. They call the police first, and inform the press next. 
An encounter specialist, four bank robbers, twelve hostages and a frenzy crowd hold the nation for one day as the brilliant heist plan spirals into a media circus for the whole nation to watch. 
It’s more than just a bank robbery! 
Set in a quiet city in South India, this story can happen to you...

BOOK REVIEW:- THis is a debut novel by author 
theme- thriller/crime

the book is very well written & executed...plot is really good
it shows the condition of india, pathetic , corrupt politics
the story is based on four friends :- velu , KJ, JAK, baalaji
how they entered the bank & bankrupt it
they make a plan to do something against the government security.
.The story is well-oven & nicely baked.In my opinion
its gripping and super fast paced book that makes you turn pages so fast that you realise on

how the author planned to write this story- one of his friend's mother had died in a road accident , A drunken guy in a car hit her in broad daylight with hundreds of people watching . Not one person called the ambullence.The police men , who came to the spot ,took a thousand rupees from the guy & left him..
by the time, they took her to the hospital, they died

The author believes that the police are as good as criminals & he is right .This country needs a better class of criminals so that the police force gets some teeth.
WE need to beat the old system Get up & Join hans & think like an Indian.
Lets make this Nation great...Jain Hind! 

AS A  debut novel ,authors have done good job !!

OVERALL RATING:- 4.5/5  stars 

U CAN BUY IT FROM FOLLOWING LINKS:- 
http://www.amazon.in/Who-Breaks-Butterfly-upon-Wheel/dp/9384391964
http://www.flipkart.com/breaks-butterfly-upon-wheel-english/p/itme2c9x8kmyauzq
GET MORE INFORMATION ABOUT THE BOOK  HERE---https://www.facebook.com/whobreaksabutterflyuponawheel?fref=nf


Sunday, 7 December 2014

~Release Blitz~ Naughty & Nice: A Holiday Collection ~

Naughty & Nice:
A Holiday Collection
Featuring: J. S. Scott, Ruth Cardello, Kathleen Brooks,
 M Malone, Skye Jordan, Sawyer Bennett,
 Lynda Chance, Melanie Shawn, Cali MacKay,
 Jean Oram, & Evelyn Adams
Genre: Holiday Romance
Release Date: December 2, 2014
SYNOPSIS :-

Mine For Christmas by J. S. Scott:
Will the emotional distance between a married couple with an infant daughter tear the two lovers apart? Or will a precious gift from Santa help them heal their misunderstandings and have the merriest Christmas they’ve ever had?

Twelve Days Of Temptation by Ruth Cardello:
Kate Hale is about to find out what happens when you ask Santa Claus to put you on his naughty list. Brock Foster has wanted Kate for a long time and is not above using deception to fulfill her steamy Christmas wish.

Secret Santa by Kathleen Brooks:
It wouldn't be Christmas in Keeneston without a party! Everyone's invited, even Santa…
Kenna's court docket is full, Dani's hiding from her in-laws, Paige and Annie are about to burst from pregnancy, and Marshall is breaking up fights at the PTA Christmas Concert. The sweet potato casserole is made, the ham and biscuits are on the table, and men are losing their shirts - and not because of bets placed with the Rose Sisters! All the while, the entire town is wondering one thing: who is the Secret Santa that showed up with special gifts for everyone?

Christmas With The Alexanders by M. Malone:
Kaylee Wilhelm knows what she wants for Christmas—for Elliott Alexander to notice her. Unfortunately, he doesn’t like her much, so she’s spending the holidays with her disapproving parents. When Kay’s car skids out of control on Christmas Eve, she’s forced to reach out to the only man she trusts to save her.

Rumor by Skye Jordan:
A year ago, former Navy SEAL Josh Marx fell for his teammate's ex, and his strict moral code demanded he get as far away from her as possible. But when he finds out she's in trouble, that same code pushes him to change his Christmas plans and check in on Grace Ashby—uncovering feelings they both thought they'd buried....

Off Season by Sawyer Bennett:
Irish lass, Cady Dunne, wasn’t looking to fall for professional hockey player, Zane Kavanaugh during a visit to the States. But she did… and now an ocean stands between them. Can a Christmas miracle bring them back together?

Staking His Claim by Lynda Chance:
When twenty-one year old Elaina Ruiz meets Raul Vega, she recognizes his ruthless intensity and chooses not to correct him when he mistakes her for a teenager. The moment Raul sees Elaina, he knows he will have her, even if it means waiting for her to grow up.

My Love by Melanie Shawn:
A surprise twist on their spur-of-the-moment holiday trip will leave Bobby and Sophie Sloan's lives forever changed. Sexy weekend getaways don't get much better than this.

A Mermaid Isle Christmas by Cali MacKay:
Aidan Nordson just wants to be left alone to live his life and deal with his demons, but when a Christmas blizzard strands Chloe Madison at his door, the gorgeous and feisty brunette stirs feelings in him he’s not ready to deal with. Forced together by fate and circumstance, can Aidan let go of the past that haunts him so he can learn to love again, or will the storm in his heart swallow him in its darkness?

Eggnog and Candy Canes: A Blueberry Springs Christmas Novella by Jean Oram:
From enemies to lovers. Nurse Katie Reiter’s nemesis, Dr. Nash Leham is back in Blueberry Springs and he came for one thing—Katie. Will their battles turn to stolen kisses in the midst of a Christmas storm or will Katie find her happily ever after in the arms of another?

Wrapped by Evelyn Adams:
Julie Blake thought she’d gotten over her first love, but when a business deal gone wrong brings her to his restaurant on Christmas Eve, she falls right back into his arms. Celebrity chef Eric Auxtres may have seduced the only woman he's ever loved into his bed again, but can he find a way into her heart or will she walk out of his life as unexpectedly as she walked in?

Sunday, 16 November 2014

Lex’s Melody - Book 1

Debut novel from already Amazon International Bestseller Leigh Stone!
Lex’s Melody - Book 1 in the Belfast Bound series
FREE FOR A LIMITED TIME ONLY!!!
Lex's Melody is set in the Northern Ireland city of Belfast, and is the first in the ‘Belfast Bound’ series, following the stories of 5 friends and their adventures in love, romance, and BDSM.
Alex Matthews is a tall, handsome dominant. He exists on the thrill that having a woman submit to him creates. He doesn't date, he doesn't commit. He works hard as an architect by day, and demands control over his submissives in his downtime. Melody Anderson is a 26 year college student who is about to change all that.
When her best friend Jonny suggests that she try a dating website, Mel has no idea where it will lead. Alex finds her profile compelling, and on their first meeting in the oldest bar in Belfast makes the suggestion that she should submit to him. Enthralled by where this could lead, Mel agrees, and the pair find themselves bound together in submission and dominance.
Alex soon finds that with Mel, his previous vice of submission only, isn't enough, and he yearns to make their relationship more, but a dark shadow from Alex's past looms menacingly on the horizon.
Will Alex overcome his fears from the past and find a future with Mel, or will it all end in tragedy?
Contains graphic sexual scenes including those with BDSM overtones. Also contains graphic language, and therefore is not suitable for under 18's.
Reviews on Amazon:
5* “I can't wait to read Ms. Stone's next books. She is a superstar in my opinion.”
5* “The intense, emotional, passion between the main characters keeps the reader intrigued and wanting more.”
5* “Great story with beautiful characters.”
5* “You will fall heavily in lust with the expertly written, down n dirty sex scenes and swoon at the tender moments between Alex and Melody our two main protagonists.”

Forgiving Gia (Rocker Series Book 2)

Gina's newest book Forgiving Gia has been getting some amazing reviews!
¸.•´¸➷¸.•´New release¸.•´¸➷¸.•´
The reviews are coming in and people are raving about Forgiving Gia by Gina Whitney!
"Every now and then a book comes along that just steals your breath away. I got two this year, Saving Abel and Forgiving Gia. It's the culmination of the story, the music, the drugs, sex and rock n roll ... it's orgasmic and electric. Gina Whitney makes me feel alive! YES! This is what Erotica should be! Gina Whitney has done it again with another story worthy of gluing me to my Kindle!" ~Jennifer
Founder, Battery Operated Book Blog
"Forgiving Gia starts right off with a bang! Picking up right where Saving Abel ended and boy did it just shock the hell out of me! An then there's the OMG moment that totally had me yelling at my kindle! You will totally understand what point it is. I seriously felt my heart sank but it was picked up right away!
Can't wait to see what's next!" ~Karrie, Panty Dropping Book Blog
"Wow with the cliffhanger that the first book ended on, I cannot tell you how excited I was to recieve Forgiving Gia...... I don't think Excited is a strong enough word.I absolutely love Gina Whitney and her writing she knows how to rock it. In true Gina form she couldn't just give us what we're used to she always has to aim higher, and she did it seamlessly with this book."~ Vicci, Raunchyrudereadersblogs
"One of the best series I've read this year!!! Gina Whitney, turns words into literary gold!"~Shelly, Sexy Bibliophiles

Sunday, 9 November 2014

The Tempting of Neely J by Jake Malden

The Tempting of Neely J is a book I really looked forward to reading it did not disappoint! I enjoy Jake Malden’s writing when I’m looking for something hot and sexy to take my breath away. I do have to say that I enjoyed this story too. Neely is just such a likeable girl!
Neely is in her early twenties and works in a church with the youth and hopes to guide them into living a proper Christian lifestyle. She is so very pure and plans to stay that way until she finds the right person and gets married.
Then she meets Ray, a smexy journalist with a cause, deflowering innocent women with as much debauchery as he can bring. He’s the kind of character that you can’t help be attracted to you and yet know it’s going to be an epic mistake. He sets his sights on Neely as the ultimate goal and will stop at nothing to succeed.
I really got into their story and at times my feelings for both Neely and Ray surprised me. There were times when I wanted to shake Neely and tell her to just go for it, then want to slap Ray for his smarmy behavior. Neely is a strong woman and I really did respect her and her decisions.
The supporting characters are just as important and I found myself just as involved in their stories. I knew from the first mention of his name that I would like Danny and yup, I totally swooned over him. Carlotta, on the other hand, that woman made my blood boil!
I think Jake Malden gets my king of smexy award for his great characters that completely capture your attention and amazingly hot sex that will have you fanning yourself. He is witty and fun with and I found that The Tempting of  Neely J was the perfect mix of heart and heat!

Embraced: Chained in Darkness Book One by Nicholas Bella

ABOUT BOOK- I’ve been betrayed by someone I trusted. Because of him, I was captured by my loathed enemy: The vampires. Right now, the sun is still high in the sky, but I know when it sets, I’m as good as dead. They can’t wait to get their fangs into me. I guess some would say I have it coming. I did raise a lot of hell with my Resistance crew, and I was planning on raising a hell of a lot more at dawn before I was sold out by Jonah. The vampires, werewolves and dragons, have been trying to track me down for months and I’d always been two steps ahead of them.
*Laughs* I guess my number is up. I just hope they make it quick. You see, the vampires in my reality aren’t the romantic lot you read about in books. They don’t sparkle or hang out at high schools with their teenage girlfriends. Hell no, vampires are brutal, calculating, sadistic and bloodthirsty. As a matter of fact, all of the monsters are! That’s how they were able to take over the world so easily and change an entire civilization to suit their needs. Whatever happens, I know it’s not going to be pretty, so I’m preparing myself for the worst. May God help me.
REVIEW:- This book is a very enjoyable read. It has well drawn and interesting characters and a fast paced plot that will keep you guessing. I loved the dialogue which was real and well crafted. The depth of the book comes in its themes which is deeply rooted in religion and politics. As other have commented, there is no clear line between the "Good guys" and the "bad guys" as each character has her or her own flaws which are explored. The book is a quick read and it will leave you wanting to read more about the characters and from this writer. 

Noel has been fighting with the Resistance, against the Vampires and other creatures who have basically taken over, being the more powerful species. Unfortunately, he was sold out by someone he trusted and has been captured by the Vampires. As punishment, rather than a swift death he had hoped for, Noel is given to one of the more powerful Vampires, Theoden, who turns him into the very thing he despises and has fought against, and basically makes him his pet.

I’d like to say Noel is the star here, but honestly, Theoden steals the show. He is what he is – a bad ass vampire who takes what he wants for himself. He has control over those he turns and already maintains a small harem for himself. He turns Noel and intends to break and use him until he understands his new place. RATING:- 4/5  stars 

The Brotherhood by Tejas Desai

Private Investigator Niral Solanke has lived a life of dissipation in contemporary New York City. He seeks redemption by probing the murder of his childhood friend Priya for a Hindu religious organization.

But what begins as a quest for truth devolves into a fight for survival as Niral is pulled into schemes involving blackmail, money laundering, and religious fundamentalism. Ultimately, he must examine his own beliefs and values when confronted with the corruption of society.

The Brotherhood is a noir thriller and the first book in an international trilogy.

Review - This book is a very enjoyable read. It has well drawn and interesting characters and a fast paced plot that will keep you guessing. I loved the dialogue which was real and well crafted.

The author has tried to incorporate too many elements in an attempt to cover as much ground as possible – sex, organised crime or mafia, religion, love, passion, and art. It’s not a grand mess but it certainly is not far from it. It’s good to bring variety into the plot with different elements but it better be right, otherwise the gamble is bound to blow up in your face.

Monday, 3 November 2014

Random House India announces Shadow in the Sun by Gayathri Ramprasad

Shadows in the Sun – Healing from Depression and Finding the Light Within
by Gayathri RamprasadShadows in the sun
With a preface from Vikram Patel, Public Health Foundation of India and Sangath
Published by Random House India on 13thOctober, Rs 399 paperback
As a young girl in Bangalore, Gayathri was surrounded by the fragrance of jasmineand flickering oil lamps, her family protected by gods and goddesses. But as shegrew older, demons came forth from dark corners of her idyllic kingdom—with thescariest creatures lurking within her tortured mind.
Shadows in the Sun traces Gayathri’s courageous battle with debilitating depressionthat consumed her from adolescence through marriage and a move to the UnitedStates. Her inspiring memoir provides a first-of-its-kind cross-cultural view ofmental illness—how it is regarded in India and in America, and how she drew onboth her rich Hindu heritage and Western medicine to find healing.
Gayathri Ramprasad is the founder and president of ASHA International, anonprofit organization promoting personal, organizational, and communitywellness. She received her first undergraduate degree in science from BangaloreUniversity in India, a second undergraduate degree in management and businessinformation systems, and a master’s in business administration from George FoxUniversity in Newberg, Oregon. She is a member of the Global Speakers Federationand the winner of the prestigious Eli Lilly Welcome Back Award for LifetimeAchievement and the Voice Award for Consumer Leadership sponsored by theSubstance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration.
For more information about Gayathri Ramprasad and her mission to promotemental health awareness, and bring hope and healing to people’s lives, please visitwww.gayathriramprasad.com and www.myasha.org
 Gayathri Ramprasad is available for interview from the US. She will be in India during December 2014 and January 2015.

Book Review- How to Become a Billionaire by Selling Nothing by Aditya Magal

Review :- The story is all about Shastri and Mr Jhunjhunwala where entrepreneur (Shastri) frauds richest man (Mr Jhunjhunwala) and makes him a partner in his company. By knowing all of this, Jhunjhunwala still decided to go ahead to work with him in the partnership. The boxes of Nothing from Nowhere are high in demand and the Company Notco is creating a new record everyday on the Bombay Stock Exchange.
A must read fun filled book
Absolutely delightful read.....a laughter riot..
Aditya takes the production and marketing to humorous levels on how they are 
bent on producing products and advertising campaigns to sell it.

Story climax starts when Jhunjhunwala claims that he had forced Shastri to cheat on his partner and set up their business until Shastri lies. Jhunjhunwala then decided that he will sort this out by talking with Shastri.
The last and most interesting part of the story begins when Jhunjhunwala with his fellow investors brings Notco to its knees. At last Jhunjhunwala realizes how Shastri was destroyed by him leading to his suicide, but also understands how money had turned him into and how it was important to put things right.
This is a great story with a great comical touch and great narrative to it. It delivers a profound message telling how the money can turn a normal person into such an arrogant who cares solely about his own aspirations and desires.
RATING - 4/5 .GOOD READ 
Summary of the Book
An eccentric entrepreneur's dreams of success are stepped on when a billionaire stock investor with a dragon-sized ego he approaches for funding shoos him away with a meager 1 Lakh, advising him to consult a psychiatrist. The entrepreneur takes the money to hit back on the billionaire by manufacturing the most innovative product possible: NOTHING! He pays the billionaire back by assigning him a stake in the company for his help. The entrepreneur's marketing skills help land investments by the hundreds, even from the deep-pockets of Indian politicians. The billionaire is vexed with his stake, one that he has unexpectedly picked up. Its value increases every day, and attracts the attention of some of the richest men in the world. However, this ride to success is cut short as another company claims that the entrepreneur has infringed on their ideas. In this spoof on success, the writer spares no one, and his writing captures the humour and absurdity of India
About Aditya Magal
Aditya Magal, or Sri Sir Jhunjhunwala as he is known on Twitter, is an Indian blogger, part-time business analyst and twitter celebrity. His blog gets over 30,000 unique followers every month and he is followed by over 45,000 people on Twitter.
Mr. Magal is an economics graduate, and worked as a Business Analyst till 2012, when he left the corporate world to write full time. His articles have been featured on Hindustan Times Brunch, Outlook, Economic Times, Hindustan Times, and JAM Magazine. His blog, which he based on a parody of Legendary Indian Investor Rakesh Jhunjhunwala, has evolved into one of the best known humour brands in India and has been acclaimed extensively by Forbes, 

Carnal Persuasion- Severed MC #4

*COVER REVEAL*
Title: Carnal Persuasion
Series:
Severed MC #4
Authors: KT Fisher & Ava Manello
Release Date: 24th December 2014
Cover Design: Margreet Asselbergs
Cover Model: Asher Collins
Photographer: Richard Hunter of RIHUPHOTO
Hosted by: Francessca's Romance Reviews
Synopsis
The fourth instalment in the Severed MC series finds Cowboy wrestling with his demons. Can he go on, or is he too broken after everything he's endured?
Meanwhile the citizens of Severed are caught up in a war, and it's down to Severed MC to try and save them.
This book is going to blow your mind.
Add to goodreads - https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/23148689-carnal-persuasion
Other Books in the Series
Severed Angel
Severed MC #1
Amazon UK - http://amzn.to/1GaKmHa
Amazon USA - http://amzn.to/1ujQolx

NEW RELEASE

It is FINALLY here!!!!!!! NOCTE by Courtney Cole (@Court_Writes) is LIVE!!! A most unexpected, unique, mind-blowing story, this book is unlike anything I've ever read before, and I could not put it down after reading only a few pages!!! Absolutely STELLAR.
✦ My review of NOCTE ➜ http://natbkj.me/nocte-cole
Amazon US: http://amzn.to/1t0zQOh
Amazon UK: http://amzn.to/11Kdpl0
Amazon CA: http://amzn.to/1pnD5Jo

Sunday, 26 October 2014

Stolen Innocence by S.M. Stryker

Haunted by her years of abuse, Parker Dane tries to leave her past behind her to start a new life in a new city. She meets Ian Blake; actually she runs into him multiple times, but always runs away before learning his name. Ian can't get Parker out of his mind and he doesn't even know her name.

Ian finally gets his opportunity to meet Parker, and he will do anything in his power to keep her from running away from him again. Parker has years of demons and fears bottled up inside her; she knows that if Ian finds out her secrets, she will lose him forever; no one wants damaged goods. Will Ian make her run away again or will her past catch up to her trying to pull her back.

Will Ian be the man to stand by Parker or will he turn his back on her.

http://bit.ly/StolenInnocence-AmzUS
http://bit.ly/StolenInnocence-AmzUK
http://bit.ly/StolenInnocence-AmzAU
http://bit.ly/StolenInnocence-Nook

Saturday, 20 September 2014

I'm Not a Retard! by Rajashree Anand

About the book:- Tormented by a group of cyber-bullies in Smithsonian College, Katya Mishra reaches out to Tara Ghosh. Her appeal is marked “spam” by the journalist, who’s caught in her own world of choices: career, family and newfound love. Matters were also getting worse in South Hall for Ralph Archer who was already a victim of ‘a host of hate-pages on FB’. Can each of them find solutions to their problems and solve those of others?

“I’m Not a Retard!” seeks to make people aware of the downsides of this newly-found medium of expression and is the voice of silent rebellion from the many students and adults faced by instances of cyber-bullying in their lives.

Through an interplay of narrative voices, the reader is taken on a voyage, experiencing the twists and turns of characters who meander through the complex intricacies and ironic shortcomings of the cyber-world.


REVIEW:-  Interesting!!! Quick Read
                     _____________________
This is a book on cyberbullying, a current topic, and a hot and raging one at that.


The plot is weak & there are many characters which are unnecessary 
the story goes out of track 

First half of the story is out of track....


good ponts about the points :- 

  • simplicity 
  • The book is a fast read, and I could not put it down once I started


The book's primary audience would be high school students, teachers and parents. Overall, a great read and As the writer's first novel, I think this is a good effort

overall rating :- 4/5 

About the Author

Raised in the bylanes of Mylapore, Ballygunge and Vasant Kunj, Rajashree Anand s perspectives on life are a juxtaposition of the traditional, cultural and modern medley of her growing up days. She currently finds herself juggling family life and her newfound love for creative writing. Her debut foray into writing sees her use literature as a medium of voicing the issue of cyber-bullying. Several of her poetic overtures have already found their rightful place in the high profile anthology titled The Dance of the Peacock (by Hidden Brook Press Canada) , Roots and Wings: An Anthology of Indian Women Writing In English and in various online journals including Muse India ,Writers Asylum, Urban Confustions and Indian Ruminations. She has degrees in English Honours and Mass Communication and has been an educator for the International Baccalaureate and IGCSE in India and Malaysia. She currently lives in Gurgaon, India with her husband and two sprightly sons.

Remember Me by Romily Bernard Blog Tour Stop

Synopsis:
In the sequel to Find Me, Wick Tate, sarcastic teen hacker, is back and once again dealing with criminals and corrupt cops…and a brooding new love interest. Will Wick persevere when some secrets refuse to stay hidden?
Wick had thought her troubles were over.


But she should’ve known better.
Not only is she embroiled in a new murder case, which starts with a body with “Remember Me” carved into it and doesn’t stop there, but she also discovers new evidence surrounding her mother’s suicide…which leads her right back to her imprisoned deadbeat dad. And she has to deal with her flirty new hacker friend, Milo, sniffing around—which her boyfriend, Griff, isn’t too happy about.
The pressure might be too much as secrets—including Wick’s own—climb to the surface.
Remember Me is an edge-of-your-seat thrilling read that’ll have readers turning the pages at lightning speed! The paperback of Find Me is on sale simultaneously, and a digital original novella from Romily, featuring Griff, is on sale just a few weeks before!

Sunday, 24 August 2014

Private India: Book Review

Author: James Patterson and Ashwin Sanghi

Hv always been a fan of Ashwin Sanghi's writing...so was definitely waiting to read this one.I had finished it in one go


When Santosh Wagh isn’t struggling out of a bottle of whisky he’s head of Private India, the Mumbai branch of the world’s finest PI agency.
In a city of over thirteen million he has his work cut out at the best of times. But now someone is killing women – seemingly unconnected women murdered in a chilling ritual, with strange objects placed carefully at their death scenes.
As Santosh and his team race to find the killer, an even greater danger faces Private India – a danger that could threaten the lives of thousands of innocent Mumbai citizens
About the Authors
Ashwin Sanghi is an Indian writer and entrepreneur. He has also written: Chanakya’s Chant and The Krishna Key. He is also known by his pseudonym: Shawn Haigins.
A graduate of the Yale School of Management and St. Xavier’s College, he has since been awarded several acclaims for his work. His second book has been optioned for a movie by UTV and is expected to begin production soon. He currently lives in Mumbai with his loving family.
James Patterson is a bestselling American writer. He is best known for Along Came a Spider, Jack & Jill, When the Wind Blows and Step on a Crack among over 100 others.
 This Book is definitely a good  pick ...u should
read it !
My Rating : 4 / 5 

Life by the Cup

 Ingredients for a Purpose-Filled Life of Bottomless Happiness and Limitless Success


The founder of Zhena’s Gypsy Tea Company tells her extraordinary story of struggle, hope, and audacity, inspiring you to overcome setbacks—no matter how daunting—and pursue your dreams.

As a twenty-four-year-old single mom, Zhena Muzyka had a young son in need of life-saving surgery and only six dollars in her wallet. But she also had three other powerful motivators: hope, a love of tea, and a dream to share beautiful, aromatic, organic teas with the world. By combining her knowledge of aromatherapy and her gypsy grandmother’s teachings, Zhena started selling custom tea blends from a cart on California street corners—and with a lot of ingenuity and grit, her business took off. Now, thirteen years later, her son is healthy and Zhena’s Gypsy Tea is a thriving, purpose-driven, fair-trade, multimillion-dollar brand.

Life by the Cup is the inspiring story of Zhena’s journey to a meaningful life as founder of a company that benefits health, protects the environment, and supports humanitarian efforts. Zhena’s message is that no matter where you are, you can change your circumstances and live your dreams.

Each chapter illuminates an inspirational life lesson through stories and wisdom passed down through generations—and also shares one of her signature tea blends as well as mouthwatering tea-based dessert recipes. Zhena’s gentle insight will motivate you no matter where you are in life. Her message: Be audacious in your dreams, commit to your values, and see your passion transformed into possibility. 

RATING :- 4 / 5

Sunday, 27 July 2014

Kim's Review : Divergent Trilogy - Divergent, Insurgent, Allegiant

You might think that Veronica Roth's Divergent Trilogy is just another fantasy trilogy aimed at Young Adults. But Divergent is host to much more "human" characters. The characters themselves aren't superhuman / werewolves / vampires / ghosts or zombies. Think Hunger Games rather than Infernal Devices.

This world (of Divergent) is confined to a fenced-in semi fantasy dystopian Chicago, where the lake has dried up, but the EL still zips across town. The town itself is crumbling in places. This world is divided into 5 factions. Each faction has its own manifesto, values, beliefs, demeanour and dress code. They are mostly grouped along the lines of what they think is the cause for errors in human nature and this decides their values, vocations and faction.

The factions are :
Abnegation - Blame selfishness and hence promote selflessness. Volunteer to help the city and individuals and always place others above themselves. Because of this selflessness, they are thought to be morally incorruptible and hence most of the City Leaders are chosen from this faction.

Dauntless - Blame cowardice and prize bravery. Their responsibilities to the city, center around security, so they work at protecting the borders, weapons manufacturing, tattoo artists and the like. 

Erudite - Blame ignorance for the ills in society and pursue learning and wisdom, prizing intelligence. They form the city's librarians, doctors, scientists, and teachers.

Amity - Blame conflict and value democracy and peace. They take care of the farms which produce the food for the city.

Candor - Blame dishonesty and prize truthfulness over everything else. They see the world in black and white and mostly work as lawyers.

This whole world seems self contained and no one knows what exists (if anything does) outside the city fences.

While children live with their parents until 16, once they attain this age there is a ceremony every year in which the 16 year olds can choose which faction they want to belong to, in a public ceremony.

Once they choose their factions, there is a series of training and tests depending on the faction and whoever fails is deemed factionless condemned to live in slum like areas and get jobs like garbage disposal. If they clear all the training, they are initiated into their faction and become part of the faction family. If they choose a different faction than that of their parents, very often the parents cut of ties with their children or the new faction discourages their holding on to old ties, because they firmly believe "Faction before blood"